

Ordinance 11 The Council: Senate Members

Approving Body: Council

Date of Approval: 10 July 2020

Policy owner: University Secretary

Policy contact: Dr Gwawr Taylor, saastaff@aber.ac.uk / 01970 622048

Policy status: Revised

Version: 3.1

Last review date: July 2023

Next review date: July 2025

ORDINANCE 11

THE COUNCIL: SENATE MEMBERS

1. Senate Members

- 1. Up to two members of academic staff (as defined in Statute 1), elected by and from the Senate, shall be appointed to the Council for a term of office of four years.
- 2. The Clerk to the Council shall notify members of the Senate of vacancies and invite nominations giving such notice of vacancies and of the closing date for nominations as is reasonable in order to enable an election to take place and its results confirmed by the last meeting of Senate before the vacancies shall occur.
- 3. Elections shall take place by secret ballot if there are more nominations than vacancies. Voting shall be on the basis of the single transferrable voting method. According to the number of vacancies the nominees receiving the highest number of votes shall be duly elected by the Senate.
- 4. If a Senate member vacates their place, then the casual vacancy shall be filled by the next meeting of Senate. The nominations and election of persons to fill casual vacancies shall be as described in 1.2 and 1.3. If the casual vacancies are of varying lengths the candidate with the greater number of votes shall be elected to the longest casual vacancy, and so forth for any remaining vacancies.
- 5. Senate members of the Council shall remain members only so long as they are members of the Senate. They shall hold office until the end of the third year following their appointment or such earlier date as may in each case be determined by the Senate to effect rotation.

2. <u>Eligibility for re-election</u>

A Senate member shall be eligible for re-election for a further term of four years and shall upon completion of any such further term of membership, or upon resignation, be ineligible for further re-election in the same category of membership until a period of three years has elapsed.