

# Ordinance 21 Academic Units

**Approving Body:** Council

Date of Approval: 28 June 2019

**Policy owner:** University Secretary

Policy contact: Dr Gwawr Taylor, saastaff@aber.ac.uk / 01970 62 2048

Policy status: Revised

Version: 6.0

Last review date: July 2023

Next review date: July 2025

# ORDINANCE 21 ACADEMIC UNITS

#### 1. Establishment

- 1. The academic units, as recognised by Council under Statute 7 as having primary responsibilities, shall be established as Faculties. The Faculties of the University shall be the following unless and until additions or deletions or changes of name are made:
  - a. Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
    - i. Art;
    - ii. Education;
    - iii. History and Welsh History;
    - iv. International Politics;
    - v. Languages and Literature;
      - English and Creative Writing;
      - Modern Languages;
      - Welsh and Celtic Studies;
    - vi. Law and Criminology;
    - vii. Theatre, Film and Television Studies;
  - b. Faculty of Business and Physical Sciences
    - i. Business;
    - ii. Computer Science;
    - iii. Information Studies;
    - iv. Mathematics;
    - v. Physics;
  - c. Faculty of Earth and Life Sciences
    - i. Department of Life Sciences
    - ii. Geography and Earth Sciences;
    - iii. Psychology;
    - iv. Biological, Environmental and Rural Sciences;
- 2. For academic and administrative purposes, such Faculties may be divided into sub-units known as Schools/Departments/Institutes, as set out above. These shall have academic status.
- 3. The Council may, in consultation with the Senate, add new Faculties/Departments/Schools/Institutes, change their names restructure, reconfigure or abolish them.

## 2. <u>Composition</u>

- 1. Faculties shall include such members of the Academic Staff and such other members of Staff as shall from time to time be assigned to them by the Council on the advice of the Senate.
- 2. In accordance with Statute 7 there shall for each Faculty be a head with designated roles and responsibilities (see Ordinance 22).

3. For each Department/School/Institute within a Faculty there shall be a head with designated roles and responsibilities.

### 3. <u>Powers and Functions</u>

- 1. Responsibility for the conduct of a Faculty is vested in the head, who is accountable to the Vice-Chancellor, and ultimately to the Council.
- 2. Faculties are established under the Charter and Statutes to facilitate the organisation of the academic work of the institution, and their functions, powers and responsibilities shall be such as are assigned to them by Senate or Council in the exercise of their authority under the Charter and Statutes.